BRAND ESSENCE ANALYSIS

The Method - Part I

When evaluating brand awareness, quantitative techniques are often utilized in order to measure recall and recognition. In contrast, brand image and brand essence evaluations are normally carried out using primarily qualitative instruments such as projective techniques and Laddering.

To a certain extent it is barely possible to separate quantitative and qualitative techniques; here we define quantitative procedures as those yielding "measurable" results on the depth, strength and uniqueness of brand attributes and associations. We define qualitative methods as those which describe in the first instance brand associations and the roots of brand equity such as brand personality, user profile, or functional and symbolic brand benefits.

Quantitative Techniques

In addition to traditional display techniques, tools for direct and indirect recognition measurement in other variations suited to "less than ideal" conditions are possible. For example, letters of the brand name can be omitted, as can elements of packaging or slogan.

Tools for measuring aided and unaided recall: in accordance with research objectives, recall of the brand or brand attributes can be measured with or without prompts and/or "guides."

Qualitative Techniques

There is a wealth of qualitative instruments which deliver varying contributions to the depiction of brand space and brand core.

Examples include: free association; projective techniques and personification; creative techniques; non-verbal procedures; and laddering. A description of all these techniques goes beyond the scope of this publication. However, as an especially important yet relatively unknown tool for depth interviews, laddering deserves a brief introduction.

© 2016 Hoffmann & Forcher

MARKEN-KERN-ANALYSEN

Die Methode

Bei Brand Awareness arbeiten wir im wesentlichen mit quantitativen Techniken, um Recall und Recognition der Markenelemente zu erheben. Brand Image und Markenkern hingegen werden überwiegend mit qualitativen Instrumenten wie projektiven Techniken und der Laddering-Technik ausgelotet.

Quantitative bzw. qualitative Techniken von einander abzugrenzen ist mitunter kaum möglich; wir verstehen hier unter quantitativen Techniken Verfahren mit deren Hilfe "messbare" Aussagen über die Tiefe, Stärke und Uniqueness von Markenelementen und Assoziationen getroffen werden können. Als qualitativ bezeichnen wir eine Methode, wenn sie vorrangig Markenassoziationen und Wurzeln des Markenwerts wie beispielsweise Markenpersönlichkeit, Verwenderbild oder funktionale und symbolische Benefits beschreiben soll.

Quantitative Techniken

Tools zur direkten und indirekten Messung der Recognition: Neben der klassischen Präsentation, sind auch Variationen unter "nicht idealen" Bedingungen möglich: beispielsweise können Buchstaben des Markennamen können ebenso weggelassen werden wie Bestandteile der Packungsgestaltung oder des Slogan.

Tools zur gestützten und ungestützten Recall-Messung: Je nach Zielsetzung wird die Erinnerung an Marken oder Markenelementen mit oder ohne Vorgabe von Stichworten und "Anleitungen" erhoben.

Qualitative Techniken

Hier gibt es eine Fülle von Instrumenten, die jeweils unterschiedliche Beiträge zur Darstellung von Markenraum und Markenkern liefern.

Beispiele sind hier freie Assoziationen, projektive Techniken und Personifikationen ebenso wie Kreativtechniken und nonverbale Verfahren und die Laddering-Technik. Sie alle zu beschreiben, würde den Rahmen dieses Booklets sprengen. Die Laddering Technik, die ein besonders wichtiges und noch wenig bekanntes Tool für Tiefeninterviews ist, möchten wir im folgenden kurz vorstellen.

© 2016 Hoffmann & Forcher